Django Unchained

Django-Unchained-Poster

2012

Columbia Pictures

Written and Directed by Quentin Tarantino

Produced by Reginald Hudlin, Stacey Sher and Pilar Savone

Cinematography by Robert Richardson

Edited by Fred Raskin

At the end of the day after we’ve finally put to bed all the complaints about Quentin Tarantino’s use of the word ‘nigger’, the stylized ultra-violence and placing the story of DJANGO UNCHAINED in the pre-Civil War, slavery infested American South ultimately it comes down to one thing: is DJANGO UNCHAINED a movie worth your time and money seeing? I think it is. And I recommend it highly. But you have to keep in mind that I’m a confirmed Quentin Tarantino fan and so I tend to overlook a lot of the flaws in his movies. And they do have flaws, as do all movies as there’s no such thing as a perfect movie. It’s just that Tarantino gets so many things right in his movies I’m totally willing to cut him much slack on those flaws. And I just love his attitude about making movies. He just goes ahead and puts it all out there, manically throwing in so many influences from so many things that you can’t rightly point at a Tarantino movie and say that it’s strictly a crime story or a revenge drama or a war movie. And in the case of DJANGO UNCHAINED it’s a spaghetti western, a comedy, a romantic quest, a revenge saga and a surprisingly honest look at slavery as it existed in the period before the Civil War. That honesty comes with a whole lot of brutality and pain and Tarantino doesn’t turn away from it.

DJANGO UNCHAINED has nothing to do with the classic 1966 spaghetti western “Django” save that the protagonists share the name. There is a subtle passing of the torch in a nice little scene between Jamie Foxx and the original Django, Franco Nero himself but it’s not at all necessary to have seen the earlier movie. This new Django is a black man, a slave with no future save to work and die. But he’s given a new life when he is freed by Dr. King Schultz (Christoph Waltz) a dentist turned bounty hunter. Schultz is hunting three men who have sizeable bounties on their heads. He’s never seen them before but Django has. Schultz makes a deal with Django who is frankly bewildered by this loquacious, articulate white man who treats him with respect and speaks to him as an equal. If Django helps him find the three men, he’ll give Django his freedom and part of the bounty money.

django-unchained-01

During the course of their hunt for the Brittle Brothers, Schultz teaches Django how to shoot and how to track men as he discovers that the ex-slave in his words is “born for this line of work” and shortly the two men are full partners in bounty hunting. Their friendship grows such a degree that Schultz agrees to help Django rescue his wife Brunhilde/Broomhilda (Kerry Washington) who was separated from her husband and sold to Calvin J. Candie (Leonardo DiCaprio) master of the fourth largest plantation in Mississippi, Candyland. Candyland is famous for the Mandingo fighters Candie trains and it’s by pretending that they are interested in buying one of his fighters that gets Django and Schultz inside Candyland. But due to the suspicious nature of Candyland’s majordomo Steven (Samuel L. Jackson) the partners may not make it out alive, much less accomplish their mission.

django_unchained_14

I have to admit again that I’m a sucker for the reckless operatic nature of any Tarantino film and DJANGO UNCHAINED is no different. It looks and feels like a big movie should and it has the acting power to back it up. And in addition, Tarantino has put away his toolbox of his usual stylistic visual effects to just tell his story and trust the strength of that story and the performances to back it up. Christoph Waltz I fell in love with five minutes into the movie. At first I thought it was a little risky for Tarantino to put the beginning of this film on his shoulders the way he did in “Inglourious Basterds” but Waltz quickly establishes that this is a totally different character and does it very well with a quirky edge that is both very funny and very dangerous.

Leonardo DiCaprio and Samuel L. Jackson appear to have some sort of private side bet to see who can out-ham the other in their scenes together and I mean that in the best possible way. They’re having fun with the material and their characters and it shows in their outstanding performances. I’ve never been much of a Jamie Foxx fan but I liked his performance a lot here. His transformation from raggedy slave to professional bounty hunter to avenging angel is thrilling to watch. And I thought it really refreshing to have as a protagonist an heroic black man who is motivated by the love he has for his wife and wants her back. It gives the movie an emotional core that puts it on a level above a simple revenge or hunt for gold plot.

1138856 - Django Unchained

If there’s anything in the movie I can point to and go, “say wha now?” it’s Kerry Washington’s performance in the movie. Not that it’s a bad one. Or even a good one as there simply isn’t enough there for me to say one way or another. Considering that it’s her character’s plight that gets the story going, Kerry Washington has surprisingly few lines and even fewer scenes. Oh, trust me when I say that she works with what she’s been given but it just struck me as odd that more wasn’t done with her character.

What else? There’s the parade of familiar and not so familiar faces in the movie. I didn’t recognize Lee Horsley, Tom Wopat, Robert Carradine, Tom Savini or James Remar. But I did recognize Dennis Christopher, Bruce Dern, Walton Goggins and James Russo. And I most certainly did recognize Don Johnson and Jonah Hill in an absolutely side-splitting scene  involving The Klan and a discussion about the proper way to cut eyeholes in a hood that is hilarious enough to be worthy of Mel Brooks.

Two more things and I’ll let you get back to what you were doing. The language is extremely raw and graphic and ‘nigger’ is used freely, often and by every member of the cast. If you are offended by the word then I strongly urge you to give the movie a pass. However, if you can accept the usage of the word considering the period of American history the movie is set in as one where the word was used commonly, fine. Mind you, I’m not condoning or condemning the use of the word. But I do consider it my duty as a reviewer of the movie to inform you that the word is used and used a LOT.

The violence. I’d heard a lot about the violence in DJANGO UNCHAINED and maybe I’ve become desensitized due to all the violent movies I’ve seen but I actually didn’t see anything in DJANGO UNCHAINED I hadn’t seen before. The gunfights are obviously inspired by Peckinpah’s “The Wild Bunch” and there are some grisly scenes of mayhem and torture that actually could have been worse if Tarantino had lingered on them. But he stays on the shot just long enough for you to get the idea and then he cuts away to let your imagination fill in the rest.

So should you see DJANGO UNCHAINED? Chances are that if you’re a Quentin Tarantino fan you’ll already made up your mind to see it and if you’re not then I doubt anything I’ve said here will change your mind. But for me, it’s another home run for him. Quentin Tarantino hasn’t yet made a movie I haven’t enjoyed and I immensely enjoyed DJANGO UNCHAINED.

django_jamie_foxx-franco-nero

Rated R

165 minutes

10 thoughts on “Django Unchained

  1. I wanted to like it more but I didn’t. It was okay for me. But I must add that the only movie I liked by Tarantino was Jackie Brown and I wasn’t a spaghetti western fan back in the day. There were moments that made me laugh, but I judge a movie by asking, ‘Would I watch it again?’ And I wouldn’t watch Django Unchained again.

  2. On the nose again sir!
    An excellent review of, in my opinion, one of the best films of the last few years and definitely one of QT’s best.
    The film is alittle overlong I think and not enough of Kerry Washington I agree. But I am going to rewatch as soon as I get my copy back.

  3. Thanks for linking to this from Facebook, Mr. Ferguson. Nice review. That’s about how I felt about the movie, also. I’m a big Tarantino fan myself. While I don’t think he’s topped “Jackie Brown” yet, and I wish he’d get back to that mature style, since then I think he’s done very well.

  4. “Reckless operatic nature” of Tarantino films, mixture of many different genres. Great review, I loved it too as you know, but I love some of the details you threw in to your extremely thoughtful description!

  5. I really, really want to see this. Your review didn’t help.;-)

    We bought Sukiyaki Western Django on DVD, but we haven’t watched it yet. I’m pretty sure it’s a remake of the original Django, rather than having anything to do with this one, but it has Quentin Tarrantino in it.

    1. SUKIYAKI WESTERN DJANGO actually has little to do with the original “Django” and actually has more in common with “Yojimbo.” At the very end of the movie they explain why “Django” is in the title. I think it’a terrific movie. If you’re not watching it just because Tarantino is in it, you’re missing out.

    2. Sukiyaki Western Django is an absolutely wonderful movie and has a great cameo by Tarantino.

      I’ve already made the decision that once Django Unchained becomes available on iTunes, I’m not even going to bother renting it — I’m buying it straight out.

  6. Great article Derrick. I have seen some Tarrentino films I loved and others I hated, but this sounds like a good one. As far as using strong language and racial slurs, if it goes with the times then it fits. Much like Harry Turtledove novels set in the South, it’s historically accurate to use the language of the times.

    1. I’ve got friends who have told me they’re not going to see DJANGO UNCHAINED because “nigger” is used so much and so often in the movie and that’s okay. We all have to obey our conscience in these matters. But for me, I understood that in the period this movie is set in, the word “nigger’ was used for black people the way that “African-American” is used now.

Leave a comment