Guardians of The Galaxy

guardians-of-the-galaxy-logo-movie-wallpaper

2014

Marvel Studios

Directed by James Gunn

Produced by Kevin Feige

Screenplay by James Gunn and Nicole Perlman

Based on “Guardians of The Galaxy” by Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning

I’m just going to come out and say it straight and plain so you’ll know exactly where I’m going with this review and if you disagree with me you can then stop reading and go onto to something else that you feel is worth your time. Watching GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY gave me the exact same feeling I had when I saw “Star Wars” for the first time way back in 1977. Yeah, GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY is that good. It’s that good because it did its job of transporting me to an entire universe of brilliantly colorful characters and spectacularly different worlds. Visually the movie is pure cake and pie. It manages the feat of giving me characters that I thought I knew and making them seem fresh and new. And it tells a rousing story of a group of individuals who overcome their own petty interests and personal demons to make the choice to do the right thing. And by doing so they become Heroes.

guardians_of_the_galaxy_movie

When we meet Peter Quill/Star-Lord (Chris Pratt) it’s twenty six years after he was abducted from Earth by Yondu Udonta (Michael Rooker). Yondu is the leader of The Ravagers, space pirates who survive and turn a credit anyway they can. Quill has become quite the accomplished thief as he proves when he steals a mysterious orb hidden in a forbidden temple on the equally forbidden planet of Morag.

It isn’t long before Quill realizes that he’s got a highly dangerous object in his possession as he’s pursed by not only Yondu, but Korath (Djimon Honsou) as well. Korath serves the Kree religious fanatic Ronan The Accuser who also wants the orb. Quill tries to sell the orb on the planet Xandar but winds up ambushed by not only Gamora (Zoe Saldana) the deadliest woman in the galaxy but by the most mismatched pair of bounty hunters ever; the genetically engineered Rocket Raccoon (Bradley Cooper) and the tree-like humanoid Groot (Vin Diesel).  The whole lot of ‘em are arrested by The Nova Corps, the elite police force/militia of Xandar and are thrown into The Kyln, an inescapable space prison. It’s here that they meet up with the formidable Drax The Destroyer (David Bautista) a warrior thirsting for vengeance on Ronan. It’s also here that Quill learns Gamora is the adopted daughter of Thanos, the mad Titan who and has struck a bargain with Ronan; get me the orb and I’ll destroy Xandar for you. It’s up to our band of misfits to break out of The Kyln and keep the orb out of the hands of Ronan as it contains an Infinity Stone, one of the most powerful objects in the universe.

Guardians of The Galaxy Movie 2014 Stills Wallpaper

Now that only covers about the first fifteen minutes of a two hour movie but if that doesn’t make your heart beat a little faster then check yourself into a hospital because you must be dead. But I admit to being heavily biased in favor of GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY because it’s been so long since I’ve seen an honest-to-Flash Gordon Space Opera in the movie theaters and even longer since I’ve seen one done this spectacularly well. GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY is being called a superhero movie and while it does have its superheroish elements, it actually belongs to a older tradition. One that was pioneered by such astounding writers like Leigh Brackett, E.E. “Doc” Smith, Edmond Hamilton. Other creators such as Alex Raymond with “Flash Gordon” and George Lucas with “Star Wars” made significant contributions to the Space Opera and it’s my hope that GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY will jump start this genre in the movies much as “Star Wars” did back in the 70’s.

guardians-of-the-galaxy-3

The vibe I get from the entire movie is one of total confidence in the material, the direction and the acting. The movie does its best at throwing the most improbable situations and elements at us and damn if we don’t go with it, grinning and cheering. This has been a terrific year for Chris Pratt. Earlier this year he scored big with “The Lego Movie” and now here he is in a leading role which he carries with such ease that you would think he’s been starring in mega budget summer blockbusters for the past ten years. He had me right from the opening credits where he avoids death trap after death trap on the planet Morag while never missing a beat of Redbone’s “Come And Get Your Love” And I think it was nothing less than brilliant to score the movie with pop songs of the 70’s and 80’s. In a bizarre way I think nobody could have seen coming, the songs fit perfectly and the rationale behind why we’re hearing The Jackson Five’s “I Want You Back” and “The Pina Colada Song” by Rupert Holmes while flying around in a starship billions of light years from Earth is a poignant one and a constant reminder to us that there is an Earth out there somewhere.

David Bautista really surprised me in this one as I only know him from “The Man With the Iron Fists” He has way more lines in this one and gets to do way more acting and pulls it off quite well. He also provides more than his share of the comedy relief as Drax tends to take everything Quill says literally. Very literally.  Zoe Saldana essentially is playing a green-skinned incarnation of the character she played in 2010’s “The Losers” but she does it so well that I’m willing to overlook it. Karen Gillian is almost unrecognizable as Nebula, another adopted daughter of Thanos that he’s transformed into a cyborg killing machine but she acquits herself well. I enjoyed her Darth Vader-ish I’m-Outta-Here move during the movie’s major battle scene.

Guardians-of-The-Galaxy-HD-screenshots-13-800x450

John C. Reilly, Glenn Close, Josh Brolin and Benicio Del Toro all provide more than able backup in supporting roles and it wasn’t until I got to the end of the movie that I realized just how star studded this movie is and the level of talent involved. You’ve got more than a few in there who have either won Academy Awards or been nominated for such more than once.

guardians-of-the-galaxy-movie-wallpaper-22

So should you see GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY? Chances are you already have but if you haven’t then by all means, stop reading this review and go see it right NOW. For once a movie lives up to all the hype and praise heaped on it. GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY is a movie that gives me the experience I go to the movies for. It’s action-packed, full of humor with a surprising amount of heart and it’s a movie that I have no doubt will become known as a masterpiece years from now. By all means see it and enjoy a true movie experience.

PG-13

122 minutes

4 thoughts on “Guardians of The Galaxy

  1. Great review, Derrick!

    I have seen GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY two times, and both times, I enjoyed myself.

    It took me back to films I saw as a kid like the original STAR WARS trilogy, the original INDIANA JONES trilogy, THE LAST STARFIGHTER, FLIGHT OF THE NAVIGATOR, and THE EXPLORERS.

    There was a sense of wonder and excitement with this film, and a whole lot of heart.

    Especially, in the opening scene.

    That kicked my butt both times that I saw it.

    Overall, I give GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY a 10/10.

    Initially, it was a 9.5/10, however, I finally understood the character, Ronan, and he seems more fleshed out as an antagonist, in hindsight, when I look at it from a different perspective. I didn’t do that originally, but I get it now.

    I can’t wait for the sequel!

    And more importantly, I can’t wait to see more cosmic-based films get introduced in the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

    I haven’t been this excited in a very long time.

Leave a comment